Help Fast Food Workers Get Better Wages! (petition)

Photo courtesy of Anthony92931

Photo courtesy of Anthony92931

 

From CredoMobilize.com:

TO: MCDONALD’S, WENDY’S, BURGER KING, TACO BELL, KFC, PIZZA HUT, DOMINO’S, PAPA JOHN’S:

Last year your combined profits were $7.35 billion. Yet you still paid most of your workers less than $11,200 a year – poverty wages. It’s shameful. And outrageous.

On August 29, thousands of workers in cities across the country – from Los Angeles, to Peoria, Hartford, Tampa and many more – went on a National Strike against low pay.

By now, everyone knows that fast food employees can’t make ends meet on $7.25 an hour or barely more. They know how incredibly profitable, and out of touch, the corporations we work for are. They know – you know – that something has to change. Starting now.

To sign the petition, go to credomobilize.com.


		
11 thoughts on “Help Fast Food Workers Get Better Wages! (petition)

  1. The minimum wage hurts the poor. This isn’t an abstract theory. It’s economics 101. Quit being a tool of political ideology. Let’s find some other way to actually help the poor.

          • If there were no minimum wage less people would be unemployed. Some might make less that the current minimum wage, but they would also be acquiring skills to increase their value and job prospects.

            Workers under age 25 represented only about one-fifth of hourly-paid workers, they made up about half of those paid the Federal minimum wage.

            Most of these workers were like me when I was going to school and working retail. I didn’t have any skills at my first job. I was paid minimum wage. I worked three retail jobs. Each time I was paid more money. Eventually when I graduated college it was my customer service skills on my resume that help land my middle class job.

            Had the minimum wage been higher back then it’s less likely that Lowes would have hired me in the Summer because they couldn’t afford to pay my wages. Which is exactly what happened the last time the minimum wage was raised. Young/low skilled workers had trouble finding work.

          • I still don’t agree- I’m sure that most people who get low paying jobs don’t end up learning skills that can eventually get them a better job. Most jobs only teach you what you need to know for that specific job, not skills for a better job. And as I said, without a minimum wage, corporations would do in the U.S. what they do in countries that don’t have minimum wage laws- they’d pay them $2 or $3 an hour. That’s not nearly enough to survive on.

          • Huh? Most low skilled jobs are in the service industry. You really believe that there’s nothing to learn at that level that can’t be used at other jobs? You must have a pretty low opinion of people who work in these jobs. The company I currently work for had hired many people with those particular skills.

            You seem to have a bit of a misunderstanding of economics and how the job market works. I suggest you study the Law of Demand. It’s economics 101.

        • In regards to your last comment: I don’t have a low opinion of these jobs- if I did, then I wouldn’t post petitions on their behalf. I’ve posted many petitions about low wage jobs with the hope that these petitions will put pressure on businesses to start treating their workers with respect.

          In terms of economics, I don’t think we’ll ever agree on whether minimum wage is a good idea. But that’s fine- discussions are important, even when you disagree with someone. That’s why blogging is so useful for talking about societal issues.

Leave a Reply

