Dog Feeding an Orphaned Lamb

I found this video on YouTube and just HAD to share it!

I love animals and love learning about animal behavior. So for me, not only is this video adorable, it also raises some fascinating questions. How aware is the dog of what it’s doing- does he understand the concept of feeding, or is he simply copying behavior his owner taught him? Did the owner show the dog how to feed the lamb? It looks to me like the answer is probably a combination of being taught a specific behavior, as well as at least partially understanding what the behavior is for.

I know that animals can make friends with other animals, even of a different species. So does the dog see the lamb as a friend? Or has he “adopted” the orphaned lamb, which has been documented in several cases among various species in zoos and animal shelters. I’d say that the dog probably sees the lamb as a friend/playmate.

Post a comment if you’d like to share your thoughts and theories! I hope this video made you smile!

2 thoughts on “Dog Feeding an Orphaned Lamb

  1. The next time I learn a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I mean, I do know it was my option to learn, but I really thought youd have one thing interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about one thing that you could fix if you werent too busy in search of attention.

Leave a Reply

