The Rainbow Eucalyptus Tree

Photo courtesy of blog.Cuipo.org

Photo courtesy of blog.Cuipo.org

 

See this article at blog.Cuipo.org and check out the great environmental work they’re doing:

Ever seen one of nature’s painted trees?

The Rainbow Eucalyptus hails from the rainforests of Mindanao, the southernmost and easternmost island in the Philippine island group. These trees can grow to be up to 70-m tall, and the trees’ bark can take on a yellow, green, orange and even purple shading!

The secret behind the Rainbow Eucalyptus is actually pretty simple. The trees shed multiple patches of bark. As the patches flake away, the green inner bark is exposed. As the bark matures, it turns bluish, then orange, purple and maroon. This creates the rainbow-like appearance.

Photo courtesy of blog.Cuipo.org

Photo courtesy of blog.Cuipo.org

I posted these pictures because I want to share with all of you this beautiful tree that I found on a few nature websites. Cuipo.org has some of the best pictures of these trees. I get so much joy from seeing how beautiful nature is- pictures like this remind and inspire me to love and respect the Earth. It also saddens me to think that, little by little, we will lose these beautiful things if we keep damaging this planet.

8 thoughts on “The Rainbow Eucalyptus Tree

  1. Greetings! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I
    could locate a captcha plugin for my comment
    form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having
    trouble finding one? Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

